Movies, Films, Picture Shows, Et Cetera

Though I’m impartial to new years resolutions (What do you mean I’ve already made some?), I’ve made up my mind about how I plan to enjoy my media this year. As far as reading goes, I won’t be buying any new books this year, and instead trying to focus on reading my usual amount (50, give or take), while at the same time reducing the bowing of my bookshelves. As for television, I haven’t picked up any mid-season shows I wasn’t already watching, and my interest in it is waning, especially with the abrupt “cancellation” of Community. This anime season is pretty good in comparison to past seasons, but most of what I’m watching is throw away humor shows, Persona 4 and a couple of “out there” shows; you know, the kind that gives anime its weird reputation in the West.

And then there’s movies. And, as far as I’m concerned, 2012 is going to be all about movies.

There are three separate superhero movies coming out just this year (I’m not counting the Ghost Rider sequel, no), a Ghibli film, something with Daniel Radcliffe in it and a number of other things I want to check out. Below is my movie list for the year, pulled from what IMDb currently has to offer.

Red Tails – January 20 (out now!)
We Need to Talk About Kevin – January 27
The Woman in Black – February 3
The Secret World of Arrietty –  February 17
The Raven – March 9
The Hunger Games – March 23 *
The Cabin in the Woods – April 13
The Three Stooges – April 13 **
The Avengers – May 4
Hysteria – May 18
Men in Black III – May 25
Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter – June 22
Brave – June 22
Magic Mike – June 29
The Amazing Spider-Man – July 6
The Dark Knight Rises – July 20
The Bourne Legacy – August 3
ParaNorman – August 17
Hotel Transylvania – September 21
James Bond: Skyfall – November 9
World War Z – December 9
The Great Gatsby – December 28 ***

That’s quite a mix of films. I have everything on there from kids movies, to superheroes, to zombies, to period pieces, to horror to Edgar Allen Poe solving crimes. And there’s at least one movie per month, except, of course, for October. Poor October, no good movies get released during you.

I’m also going to keep track of the movies as I watch them, in a delightful visual format, you can find here, on my Tumblr.

What movies are you looking forward to this year?

__

* I haven’t read these books, but I want to see what all the hype is about. I also kind of want to see how similar it is to Battle Royale.
** I’m doing it for Sean Hayes.
*** Yes, I expect this to be terrible, too.

3 Comments

Filed under media consumption

3 responses to “Movies, Films, Picture Shows, Et Cetera

  1. The Secret World of Arrietty was so good. I loved it way more than I thought I would, which is saying a lot since my expectations were high!
    Eager to see Great Gatsby though. I know it’s going to be bad, or not anywhere as good as the book, but I’m still curious. I’m refusing to reread the novel before the movie in hopes that I’ll enjoy it more that way!

    • I am still so jealous you got to see it already! I know it’ll be out soon, but still! Glad to hear it was so good. And haha, yes, I feel the same about Gatsby. Who knows, maybe we’ll be pleasantly surprised? And I was thinking about rereading it too, but maybe I’ll wait instead…

  2. Pingback: See You at the Movies! « Robots in the Crosswalks

Leave a Reply

