The Final Word on the Bridesmaid Dress

From Nordstrom in “Purple Haze.” It will probably be a little long, but I’m kind of over the dress shopping at this point. Turns out you should probably get a dress a little earlier than a week before the wedding if you want the one in the style you really like. Oh well. I’ll keep that in mind for any future bridesmaidĀ endeavors. I should just feel happy I was allowed to pick the dress myself, huh?

The wedding is next Saturday, and I’ve found myself looking at other people’s wedding photos on Facebook and photography sites. I’m not big on weddings myself, but I like the emphasis on taking beautiful pictures. There’s someone really amazing about really good wedding/engagement pictures that makes me almost sad I will probably miss out of them. Keyword there is “almost.” I don’t think I could deal with the hassle. I’d rather see really beautiful pictures of my beautiful friends than have a million pictures of myself in a white dress. Honestly, I think I would find it really, really creepy to have photos like that.

And if I was having a wedding? I would definitely wear red.

4 Comments

Filed under the science of appearances

4 responses to “The Final Word on the Bridesmaid Dress

  1. Red, for luck! Like at Chinese weddings! :D The beauty with traditional Malay weddings is that we get to wear whatever colours we want, so I’m definitely marrying in either pink/orange or pink/blue!

    • Oh wow, I didn’t know that about Chinese weddings! Some vague European culture has kept the phrase “Married in red, better off dead” alive, so if you’re partially WASP-y, you’re supposed to avoid it. And dude, I so want to be at your wedding! I bet you will be the beautiful-est bride ever. X3

  2. Cute dress! Shiny :D

    If I were to have a wedding, I think I’d wear an off-white, short dress with some funky shoes.

    How’s SF?!

    • Sounds good to me! I think we should be able to wear whatever we want to our weddings without traditional bearing down on us!
      It’s good, but cold! I didn’t think I’d miss Philly summers, but sometimes I do! Though then I realize it’s silly to miss that hell on earth, and I am happy with the 50/60 degree weather out here. The weather get any better yet?

Leave a Reply

