Giving Up on Dreams (It’s Not as Bad as All That)

“It does not do to dwell on dreams and forget to live.” – Albus Dumbledore, Wizard

YUKI photographed by SLEEP

Hello, WordPress. This is technically my first post and it is about dreams.

At some point in high school, someone gave me a Harry Potter journal. I already had a paper journal (which I still have and is kind of horrifying to reread), so I decided to use the HP one as a dream journal. I didn’t keep it up very well, and it had entries from 2004 all the way to this year, but it still had everything: Cool dreams, creepy dreams, NSFW dreams, et cetera. So, you would think it would be really important to me, right?

Nope.

A couple weeks ago, I took it off the shelf where I keep my high school diary, grabbed a sharpie and blotted everything out. I then happily dumped it into the recycling bin in the kitchen and let the city take it away.

Why did I do this? Because I’ve given up on dreams. Which sounds awful, but it’s really not, I promise.

I have a LOT of stress dreams. Some of the more typical ones I have are the teeth-falling-out and the being-attacked kind, and I hate them. Constantly having dreams that are more stressful than real life don’t make for a good night’s sleep. And the fact that I dwell on these dreams a lot doesn’t help, either. It’s a really bad habit, and I want to let it go, along with the type of dreams that keep it alive.

And so my dream journal went. Though there wasn’t much in it, it was part of the problem. Since most of my dreams are stressful, most of the journal was nightmares and general unpleasantness. No point in keeping a record of them if all it’s going to do is remind me how awful my dreams can be! Thus, sharpie.

I don’t know how else I’m going to try to purge stress from my sleep, but I’m going to keep trying. I plan to do my best not to dwell on weird dreams during the day. Dreams fade fast, and I’m going to let them, instead of agonizing over the strange things I saw in my sleep. If I’m just going to forget my dreams anyway, they can stay forgotten.

I also plan on doing some research. I’m working at a library this summer, so I’ll be checking out as many books on dreams as I can carry home. Hopefully, I’ll find the help I need in them. And of course, there’s always the internet! But we’ll see just how accurate whatever I find may be.

And I will keep anyone who might be reading updated. ;)

Leave a comment

Filed under giving up on dreams

Leave a Reply

